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BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR 

 
FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 

 

 
 

HEARING DATE: January 8, 2016 
 
SUBJECT MATTER OF: Smog Check Licensing; Disciplinary Guidelines; 

Probationary Registration/License 

 
SECTIONS AFFECTED: §§ 3340.1, 3340.10, and 3340.28 of Title 16, 

Division 33, Chapter 1, Article 5.5, California Code 

of Regulations 

 
§§ 3395.4 and 3395.5 of Title 16, Division 33, 

Chapter 1, Article 12, California Code of 

Regulations 

 
UPDATED INFORMATION 
 
The Initial Statement of Reasons and revised Initial Statement of Reasons are included in the file. 

On January 28, 2016, the Bureau of Automotive Repair sent a 15-day Notice of Availability of 

Modified Text and Document Added to the File to the Bureau’s interested parties’ mailing list. The 

notice informed interested parties of changes to the Guidelines for Disciplinary Orders and Terms 

of Probation (Disciplinary Guidelines) and to the Initial Statement of Reasons.  

 

Changes subject to the 15-day notice were made in response to a written comment received during 

the public comment period and feedback received from the Office of Administrative Law (OAL).  

OAL conducted a courtesy review of the Initial Statement of Reasons prior to publication of the 

Notice of Proposed Regulatory Action; a subsequent internal review resulted in further changes to 

the Disciplinary Guidelines.  

 

The notice period ran from January 29, 2016 to February 12, 2016. During this period the Bureau 

received two written comments. These comments demonstrated a potential need to enhance general 

awareness in the regulated industry of the administrative disciplinary process and the purpose of 

the Disciplinary Guidelines within that process. 

 

Below, Part I briefly summarizes the administrative disciplinary process and discusses the use of 

the Disciplinary Guidelines. Part II summarizes changes included in the modified Disciplinary 

Guidelines and revised Initial Statement of Reasons and made available for the 15-day notice 

period. Part III summarizes non-substantive changes made to the regulatory text, including the 

Disciplinary Guidelines, following the 15-day notice period.  
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Part I. Administrative Disciplinary Process 

 

Upon determination of the need to investigate the business practices of a licensee, the Bureau will 

conduct an investigation to gather evidence in support of a potential disciplinary action. If the 

evidence gathered supports the filing of an accusation against a license, the investigative materials 

are forwarded to the Office of the Attorney General for preparation and filing of an accusation 

against the respondent. Once the accusation is served on the respondent, the matter proceeds 

pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, Government Code sections §11500 to §11529.   

 

The Disciplinary Guidelines are intended to guide the Administrative Law Judges in preparation of 

consistent proposed decisions and disciplinary orders. Bureau licensees, their counsel, and other 

parties to an administrative action will likely refer to the Guidelines as well.  

 

Part II. Summary of Changes Included in Modified Disciplinary Guidelines and Revised Initial 

Statement of Reasons 

 

The modified Disciplinary Guidelines, which are incorporated by reference in Title 16, California 

Code of Regulations (CCR) section 3395.4, contains the following changes to the originally 

proposed Disciplinary Guidelines: 

 

1. Where cost recovery is described in the Disciplinary Guidelines, replace the term 

“prosecution” with the term “enforcement.” That is, the Bureau requests that the 

disciplinary orders contained in the Proposed Decisions issued by administrative law judges 

(ALJs) include a provision allowing for recovery of its investigative and enforcement costs. 

This change occurs in the “Proposed Decisions” section and in the “Cost Recovery” 

subsections of the Model Disciplinary Orders section.  

 

The alternate wording more closely aligns with Business and Professions Code section 

125.3(c), which provides “costs shall include the amount of investigative and enforcement 

costs up to the date of the hearing, including, but not limited to, charges imposed by the 

Attorney General.”  

 

2. Where a “minimum” level or order of discipline is discussed, change wording to clarify any 

level of discipline may be ordered by an ALJ, up to the maximum level of license 

revocation, and the probation terms provided by the Bureau are simply recommended 

(rather than minimum) terms.  

 

The Bureau determined this clarification was needed following receipt of a written 

comment which indicated there was a potential for confusion regarding the range of 

discipline applicable to licensees. This clarification was made in the “Factors in 

Aggravation and in Mitigation” section and the “Disciplinary Order Guidelines” section, 

including in the disciplinary order guidelines tables. 

 

3. In the Factors in Aggravation and in Mitigation section, add “Evidence of” before certain 

factors in aggravation and amending one of the factors in mitigation to state “Evidence that 

the violation was not part of a pattern of practice,” rather than “No evidence that the 

violation was part of a pattern or practice.”   



Page 3 of 13 
 

 

These changes clarify that when applicable factors are argued, evidence of these factors 

must be presented. These changes were recommended in a written comment received 

during the public comment period.  

 

4. In the Factors in Mitigation section, add a factor which states, “Evidence of any other 

conduct which would constitute a factor in mitigation.” 

 

This factor parallels a similar provision under the factors in aggravation allowing for 

additional circumstances which may reasonably constitute aggravating factors. This change 

was recommended in a written comment received during the public comment period. 

 

5. In Table A, Business and Professions Code Disciplinary Guidelines: 

a. Increase probation term for violation of Business and Professions Code section 

9884.7(a)(9), Subletting Repair Work without Customer’s Knowledge/Consent, 

from two years to three years.  

 

This change to the probation term corrects an error by ensuring this term is 

consistent with those of other similar offenses, such as violation of Title 16, CCR 

section 3359. The rationale for the three year probation is provided in the revised 

Initial Statement of Reasons. 

 

b. Decrease probation term for violation of Business and Professions Code section 

9889.3(c), Violation of Director’s Regulations, from five years to two years.  

 

This change to the probation term corrects an error by stating the proper term. The 

term in the Disciplinary Guidelines for this violation now matches the term in the 

original and revised Initial Statement of Reasons for this offense.  

 

c. Increase probation term for violation of Business and Professions Code section 

9889.3(f), Aids or Abets an Unlicensed Person, from three years to five years.  

 

This change to the probation term corrects an error by stating the proper term. The 

term in the Disciplinary Guidelines for this violation now matches the term in the 

original and revised Initial Statement of Reasons for this offense. 

 

6. In Table B, Health and Safety Code Disciplinary Guidelines: 

a. Increase probation term for violation of Health and Safety Code section 44033(e), 

Failure to Post Station and Technician Licenses, from two years to three years. 

 

This change to the probation term corrects an error by ensuring this term is 

consistent with those of other similar offenses, such as violations of Title 16, CCR 

sections 3340.15(c) and 3340.50(g). The rationale for the three year probation is 

provided in the revised Initial Statement of Reasons. 

 

b. Increase probation term for violation of Health and Safety Code section 44035 from 

two years to three years. 
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This change to the probation term corrects an error by ensuring this term is 

consistent with those of other similar offenses, such as violation of Title 16, CCR 

section 3340.15(g). The rationale for the three year probation is provided in the 

revised Initial Statement of Reasons.  

 

c. Delete Health and Safety Code section 44036.5(b) from the Disciplinary Guidelines. 

 

This deletion corrects the error of including this offense in the originally proposed 

Disciplinary Guidelines. This code violation has been removed because gas blenders 

are not licensed by BAR and therefore cannot be put on probation. 

 

d. Decrease probation term for violation of Health and Safety Code section 44072.2(c) 

from three years to two years.  

 

This change to the probation term corrects an error by ensuring this term is 

consistent with those of other similar offenses, such as violations of Business and 

Professions Code section 9884.7(a)(6) and Health and Safety Code sections 

44072.2(a), 44072.2(c), and 44072.2(h). The rationale for the two year probation is 

provided in the revised Initial Statement of Reasons. 

 

7. In Table C, California Code of Regulations Disciplinary Order Guidelines: 

a. Increase probation term for violation of Title 16, CCR section 3307(d), Failure to 

Post List of Prices, from two years to three years.  

 

This change to the probation term corrects an error by ensuring this term is 

consistent with those of other similar offenses, such as violation of Title 16, CCR 

section 3340.15(d). The rationale for the three year probation term is provided in the 

revised Initial Statement of Reasons. 

 

b. Add Title 16, CCR section 3340.15(h), Subletting Inspections or Repairs Requires 

as part of the Smog Check Program, and provide a three year probation term is 

recommended for violation of this section. 

 

This addition corrects the error of omitting this offense from the originally proposed 

Disciplinary Guidelines. As explained in the revised Initial Statement of Reasons, 

addition of this code section puts licensees on notice they may be disciplined for 

these offenses and a three year probation term is appropriate. 

 

c. Decrease probation term for violation of Title 16, CCR section 3340.17 from five 

years to three years. 

 

The Bureau determined a three year probation term was more appropriate for this 

offense, as it does not involve a threat to public safety.  The probation term is 

justified in the revised Initial Statement of Reasons. 

 

d. Add Title 16, CCR sections 3340.50(a)-(c) and (h). Recommend a three year 
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probation term for violations of these sections.  

 

This addition corrects the error of omitting these offenses from the originally 

proposed Disciplinary Guidelines. As explained in the revised Initial Statement of 

Reasons, addition of these code sections puts licensees on notice they may be 

disciplined for these offenses and a three year probation term is appropriate. 

 

e. Increase probation term for violation of Title 16, CCR section 3340.50(d), Failure to 

comply with work area requirements, from two years to three years. 

 

This change to the probation term corrects an error by ensuring this term is 

consistent with those of other similar offenses, such as violation of Title 16, CCR 

section 3340.15(a). The rationale for the three year probation is provided in the 

revised Initial Statement of Reasons. 

 

8. In subsection (c) of the section Training Course, under Optional Terms and Conditions of 

Probation, add “brake and lamp station and adjuster” so that the paragraph heading reads, 

“Applicable to registrants and brake and lamp station and adjuster licensees.” 

 

This added language clarifies this subsection, which encompasses all manner of non-

technical training, applies only to registrants and brake and lamp station and adjuster 

licensees, and not to Smog Check inspectors and repair technicians. Because Health and 

Safety Code section 44045.6 establishes specific training requirements applicable to the 

latter, the Bureau has more limited authority to prescribe non-technical training to these 

licensees.  

 

The revised Initial Statement of Reasons includes the following changes:  

 

 Revise the Proposed Decisions section to describe the corresponding section of the 

currently proposed Disciplinary Guidelines. This section of the previously proposed Initial 

Statement of Reasons referred to an incorrect draft of the Disciplinary Guidelines.  

 Provide justifications for code violations added to the Disciplinary Guidelines and remove 

justification for code violation removed from the Disciplinary Guidelines.  

 Provide additional explanations for proposed probation terms throughout, including code 

sections for which probation terms were adjusted. 

 Provide additional explanation of two-, three-, and five-year probation terms generally.  

 Minor editorial changes throughout to improve the clarity and conciseness of this 

document. 

 

Part III. Non-substantive Change to Disciplinary Guidelines after 15-Day Notice 

 

The following non-substantive change was made to the regulatory text and modified Disciplinary 

Guidelines following the 15-day re-notice period: 

 

1. In the regulation text (proposed CCR section 3395.4 and the Disciplinary Guidelines), 

amend revision date from May 2014 to March 2016.  
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This update provides a more current date for the Disciplinary Guidelines.  

 

LOCAL MANDATE 
 
A mandate is not imposed on local agencies or school districts.  

 

SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT 

 

This regulation will not have a significant adverse economic impact on small businesses. 

 
CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 
 
No reasonable alternative which was considered or that has otherwise been identified and 

brought to the attention of the Bureau would either be more effective in carrying out the purpose 

for which the action is proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private 

persons than the adopted regulation, or would be more cost-effective to affected private persons 

and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. 

 

BAR considered the alternative of taking no action. However, this option was deemed 

unacceptable for several reasons.  First, BAR would not be acting in compliance with 

Government Code section 11425.50 (e), which essentially provides a penalty may not imposed if 

based on a guideline that is not adopted in regulation. Second, taking no action would engender 

confusion regarding the Bureau’s jurisdiction over redesignated licenses. Third, taking no action 

would leave no alternative to a formal administrative hearing process when an application for a 

registration or license is denied, but a probationary registration or license may be warranted. 

 

RESPONSES TO COMMENTS SUBMITTED DURING 45 DAY PUBLIC COMMENT 

PERIOD 

 
The Bureau received one comment from a representative of the Automotive Service Councils of 

California and the California Auto Body Association, who made the following recommendations 

and/or objections regarding the proposed action: 

Factors in Aggravation 

1. Recommendation: The words “Evidence of” should be added at the beginning of certain 

Factors of Aggravation listed in the Disciplinary Guidelines to clarify that evidence of those 

factors should be provided if it is argued those factors apply. Specifically, the recommended 

wording should be added to Factors 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, and 15.  

 

Response: This recommendation is accepted in part and rejected in part.  

 

The Bureau added “Evidence of” to Factors 6, 7, 8, and 15 for clarification purposes. The Bureau 

did not amend Factors 5 or 10. Factors 5, 10, 12, and 13 involve “failure to” have completed 

certain actions. Amending only Factors 5 and 10 would potentially create confusion for readers 

because these factors would be inconsistent with Factors 12 and 13, and it is not always possible 

to produce evidence of the absence of certain behavior.  
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2. Recommendation: Add the word “reasonable” to Factor in Aggravation 5 such that it states, 

“Failure to permit BAR reasonable inspection of records.”  This change is recommended for the 

following reason:  

 

“There have been instances where a BAR representative will write a ‘failure to 

inspect’ violation on a Station Report.  The circumstances arise when the shop 

could not turn over records immediately because of a pending civil case and all 

records were with attorney.  The shop indicated that records were not restricted 

but were with his attorney, nevertheless, BAR wrote up as a violation.  BAR 

violations listed on Station Reports are subjective and based on the opinion of a 

BAR field representative, and issued without any due process.  If such a violation 

(indicated on Station Report) is used for a factor of aggravation, then the 

Administrative Law Judge should hear all the evidence (both sides) of the failure 

to permit BAR inspection of records before it is automatically considered a factor 

of aggravation.” 

 

Response: This recommendation is rejected because it is unnecessary in promoting the goal of 

due process. As the comment notes, alleged violations of BAR laws and regulations are listed in 

Station Reports. These reports are included in the case presented to an ALJ as part of the 

administrative appeal process. During that process, a shop contesting the fairness of the report is 

given an opportunity to present its version of the facts pertaining to alleged violations before an 

ALJ. The ALJ hears evidence from both sides and considers only the evidence presented to him 

or her at the time of adjudication before determining the appropriate form of discipline.  

 

What is more, cases that do make it to an ALJ often involve a number of serious offenses.  The 

nature of these cases is often such that they cannot be resolved through settlement or with a lower 

probation period. 

 

3. Recommendation: Amend Factor in Aggravation 10 such that it states “Failure to comply 

with BAR request for corrective action/training,” instead of “Failure to comply with BAR 

request for corrective action/retraining.” (Emphases added). 

 

Response: This recommendation is rejected because the term “corrective action” is broad enough 

to encompass training.  

 

Factors in Mitigation 

 

1. Recommendation: The comment recommends Factor in Mitigation 1, which states a 

“respondent implemented BAR’s suggested resolution to a consumer complaint,” be clarified 

 

“…to also provide mitigation where a shop in good faith offered to resolve the 

situation but wasn’t exactly as ‘suggested’ by BAR. For example, where the BAR 

suggested resolution was to refund a customer one amount (i.e $500.00) but the 

shop based on the facts and circumstances and in good faith refunded another 

amount (i.e. $250.00). This resolution should also be considered as a factor of 

mitigation even though it was not exactly as ‘suggested’ by BAR.” 

 

Response: This recommendation could not be incorporated in the currently proposed 
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regulation. However, BAR will consider amending the Disciplinary Guidelines in a 

future regulatory proposal to replace the word “suggested” with “mediated.”  The 

complaint resolution process involves a Bureau representative mediating a resolution 

between the two parties.  

 

2. Recommendation: The comment recommends a new factor in mitigation for 

“[e]vidence of any other conduct which would constitute a factor in mitigation” in case 

there is a mitigating factor that has not been thought of at this time.  

 

Response: This recommendation is accepted.  

 

The language as stated above has been added to capture additional circumstances that 

may reasonably constitute a mitigating factor. 

 

Disciplinary Order Guidelines 

 

1. Recommendation: The comment recommends the Bureau clarify what “reasonable costs of 

investigation and enforcement” include. That is, “[t]he first two paragraphs [of this section] state 

that the BAR will recover reasonable costs of investigation and enforcement. Does cost of 

"enforcement" include other costs such as prior BAR field visits based on complaints? Costs of 

enforcing prior Citations? issuing of Station Reports? or pro-active or office conference? What is 

the definition of enforcement costs? This should be clarified.” [sic] 

 

Response: This comment is rejected because, as described below, such clarification is 

unnecessary.  

 

The Proposed Decisions section of the originally proposed and modified Disciplinary Guidelines 

outlines the information BAR requests to be included in disciplinary orders. This includes 

reasonable costs of investigation and enforcement “as determined by the ALJ hearing the matter, 

pursuant to Section 125.3 of the Business and Professions Code.”  Section 125.3(c) of the 

Business and Professions Code provides these costs “shall include the amount of investigative 

and enforcement costs up to the date of the hearing, including, but not limited to, charges 

imposed by the Attorney General. Section 125.3(h) further provides “[a]ll costs recovered under 

this section shall be considered a reimbursement for costs incurred…” 

 

The statute makes clear the costs are those directly related to the case at hand; that is, those costs 

incurred investigating a case and preparing it for hearing, as well as costs billed to the Bureau by 

the Attorney General for prosecution efforts. The amount of costs a respondent is ultimately 

ordered to pay is determined by the ALJ based upon the evidence presented at hearing. When 

ordering cost recovery, the ALJ can consider the licensee’s ability to pay and other factors. 

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.3(d), the Bureau can never increase the 

amount of cost recovery beyond what the ALJ has ordered, nor can the costs exceed the 

reasonable costs of the case being adjudicated.  

 

2. Objection: The comment objects to the proposed five-year and two-year probation terms for 

certain offenses, as follows: 

 

“The new Tables List Business and Profession Code Disciplinary Order 
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Guidelines (Table A); Health and Safety Code Disciplinary Orders Guidelines 

(Table B); California Code of Regulations Disciplinary Order Guidelines (Table 

C). These new tables would extend the current probationary maximum period 

from three (3) years to five (5) years. We believe this is unnecessary and the 

current policy of (3) three year maximum probation has proven effective and 

should continue be the standard 

 

The list of Tables also contain minimum probationary periods of 2 years for all 

violations. However, a minimum 2 year probationary period for certain violations 

may not reasonable. In other words, the ‘punishment does not fit the crime.’  For 

example, failure to display identifying signs under H&S Code section 44033 (a) 

or CCR 3307 (c); or CCR 3309; or CCR 3340.22; or CCR 3340.22.1; CCR 

3351.3; would be subject to a 2 year minimum probation under the proposal.  If 

the shop remodeled or the sign fell or wasn't displayed in a manner deemed 

conspicuous to the public by BAR, that shop would be subject to a 2 year 

minimum probation. That seems very harsh. Also if an ARD fails to correct or 

update the mailing address on file with BAR, that would be also be a 2 year 

minimum probation.” [sic] 

 

Response: This comment is rejected for several reasons listed below, but a clarification has been 

made in response to the comment.  

 

First, to clarify, the proposed Disciplinary Guidelines retains the maximum penalty and lowest 

probation term provided in the currently incorporated Disciplinary Guidelines. The current 

maximum penalty is revocation of the registration or license. The two-year probation term is 

currently the lowest recommended probation term.  

 

Second, past experience has led the Bureau to determine five-year and two-year probation terms 

for certain violations are appropriate to gain compliance. Explanations for all proposed probation 

terms, including instances in which recommended probation terms have increased to five years, 

are found in the Initial Statement of Reasons and revised Initial Statement of Reasons. The 

revised Initial Statement of Reasons also explains generally the reasons for which a two-, three-, 

or five-year term is assigned.   

 

Third, within the administrative disciplinary process, licensees have opportunities to challenge 

evidence presented in support of alleged violations. At an administrative hearing, an ALJ hears 

both sides of a case and proposes a level of discipline they determine is appropriate depending on 

the facts and circumstances. 

 

Nonetheless, the Bureau has clarified throughout the modified Disciplinary Guidelines that the 

probation terms listed in the tables are “recommended” rather than “minimum” terms.  

 

3. Recommendation: The comment recommends a range of probation terms be provided for 

each violation. That is, “[t]he BAR should consider amending the minimum probationary periods 

to provide a reasonable range, depending on the facts and circumstances of the specific case. For 

example, the minimum probation period may range from no probation up to 3 years maximum. 

Health Safety Code section 44050 provides a range of fines for ARD citations. Why couldn't the 

same rational apply to minimum probationary periods?” 
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Response: This recommendation is rejected for two reasons.  

 

First, the proposed and modified Disciplinary Guidelines already provide for a range of probation 

terms for each offense. An ALJ may assign any probation term, be it the recommended term, no 

term, or any other term, up to the maximum order of revocation depending on the facts and 

circumstances of the case. Second, as noted above, the current Disciplinary Guidelines, adopted 

in 1997, provide a two-year probation term as the lowest recommended term. The Disciplinary 

Guidelines provide recommended probationary terms for repair facilities found to have violated 

sections of the Automotive Repair Act and Health and Safety Code. It is consistent with the goal 

of consumer protection to require a repair facility to demonstrate compliance with these laws 

through a minimum term of probation. Two years is an appropriate minimum term to 

demonstrate said compliance.  

 

RESPONSES TO COMMENTS SUBMITTED DURING 15 DAY NOTICE AND 

COMMENT PERIOD 

The Bureau received two written comments during the additional 15 Day Notice and Comment 

Period. Neither comment was within the scope of the modifications subject to the additional notice 

period. For this reason and the reasons outlined below, these comments are rejected.  

Comment #1 

Commenter: California Emissions Testing Industries Association (CETIA) 

Comment: 

First, the proposed regulations grant BAR too much authority to impose restrictions and penalties 

upon licensees. BAR has proposed unreasonable probation requirements in regards to the standard 

and optional terms and conditions of probation in the Disciplinary Guidelines, as well as in 

subjecting probationary registration to supervision and compliance requirements (see CCR section 

3395.5(e)(1)-(2)). BAR has exceeded its statutory authority because it has not demonstrated 

substantial evidence for these restrictions. 

Second, the proposed regulation does not adequately address changes in license types; specifically, 

it does not allow stations to carry over station history and STAR certification status when changing 

license types. 

Response:  

This comment is rejected because it is not germane to the modifications that are the subject of the 

15-day notice, as well as for the reasons below.  

Regarding the first part, the Bureau is authorized to adopt regulations, including those imposing 

conditions on probation and probationary registration, that it determines are reasonably necessary 

to enforce the Automotive Repair Act and the Smog Check Program (e.g., Business and 

Professions Code sections 9882, 9884.2, 9889.5, and 9884.21; and Health and Safety Code section 

44072.4). These regulations are subject to the Administrative Procedure Act, and thus are made 

available for review and comment by the public and regulated industry prior to adoption. 

Justifications for the proposed terms and conditions of probation, as well as the new probationary 

registration process, are included in the Initial Statement of Reasons and Revised Initial Statement 
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of Reasons.  

The Bureau is proposing to add a process for probationary registration to allow eligible businesses 

that have had their registration denied to accept the timely issuance of a probationary registration 

and begin operating as an Automotive Repair Dealer. The business would otherwise have wait for 

the completion of an administrative proceeding likely to take several months to conclude. 

Regarding the second part, it fails to recognize: 1) a change in license type from Test Only to Test 

and Repair and vice versa does not require the loss of a station’s history of inspection data since 

that change does not require a change in the station’s ARD registration number; and 2) a station 

that has been subject to disciplinary action would not be eligible for STAR certification pursuant to 

regulation. 

Comment #2 

Commenter: California Automotive Business Coalition (CalABC) 

Comment:  

The various items in this comment are summarized below. This comment is rejected because it is 

not germane to the modifications that are the subject of the 15-day notice, as well as for the reasons 

that follow.  

Standard Terms and Conditions of Probation 

 Page 27, #3 – Quarterly Reporting  

o Comment: This section is too vague and needs to be better defined. CalABC    

recommends the Bureau develop a form for businesses to follow that ties in with 

this section so businesses understand what information they must track and report 

on during the probationary period. 

o Response: The Proposed Decision issued by an ALJ after adjudication contains the 

list of specific requirements a respondent must meet. After the decision is adopted 

by the Department, Bureau staff enforces the decision in part by meeting 

periodically with respondents during the probationary period. At these meetings, the 

respondent is asked to explain what actions have been taken to comply with the 

requirements stated in the decision. For example, if a Smog Check station owner 

was disciplined because an employee fraudulently certified vehicles, the respondent 

station owner could be asked during their probation what he or she has done to 

ensure the employee did not continue to engage in that conduct.  

 Page 27, #5 – Access to Examine Vehicles and Records 

o Comment: CalABC suggests the Bureau revise the regulation to address how and 

what an ARD will need to provide if their business records have been converted to 

electronic files.  

o Response: The Bureau is currently developing a separate regulation that addresses 

the use of electronic systems of customer authorization and recordkeeping in the 

automotive repair industry. The Bureau held two public workshops on that 

regulation in 2015. 
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Optional Terms and Conditions of Probation 

 Page 29, #1 – Actual Suspension 

o Recommendation: Remove the word “consecutive,” such that the provision would 

no longer require a suspension to be served over a period of consecutive days. If a 

station is prohibited from a certain activity for a block of time, it creates a financial 

hardship on station employees who forego income from that activity during that 

time. Allow businesses to be shut down periodically over the suspension period.  

o Response: It would be infeasible for the Bureau to allow for a non-consecutive 

period of suspension; that is, to allow stations to shut down on a periodic basis and 

accumulate such time as will complete their suspension. Such practice would render 

the regulation ineffective as a disciplinary tool.  

 Page 32, #7 – Supervision Requirements 

o Recommendation: Instead of prohibiting a respondent from delegating supervisory 

duties related to activities subject to probation, allow the respondent to designate an 

alternate supervisor. This change is recommended because it may not be feasible to 

have the respondent be the only one allowed to perform supervisory duties.  

o Response: First, the direct supervision requirement applies only to the activity 

leading to probationary status. Second, the recommendation seeks to have the 

Bureau allow the respondent to transfer his or her supervisory duties to someone 

who is not subject to the terms of probation. That is, someone who has not entered 

into and is not bound by an agreement with the Department which sets forth specific 

terms of probation. Making this change would essentially allow a respondent to 

circumvent responsibilities which he or she is contractually obligated to uphold.  

Factors in Aggravation  

 Failure to pay court judgments to the victim. 

o Comment: This factor in aggravation unfairly prejudices shops that, at the time of 

the administrative hearing, may have appealed the judgment and prevailed or had 

the judgment reduced. 

o Response: For purposes of the Bureau’s regulations, a “judgment” means a civil 

judgment in which the licensee has been found liable, after any and all appeals have 

been exhausted.   

 Commits any act of dishonesty. 

o Comment: While acknowledging this provision has been eliminated in the latest 

version of the Disciplinary Guidelines, CalABC notes this provision is too 

subjective to enforce with any fairness and thus should be eliminated. 

o Response: There is no action required by the Bureau to respond to this comment.  

 “Minimum” and “Maximum” Penalties  

 Recommendations:  

o The sentence “No single factor or combination of the above factors is required to 
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justify either the minimum or maximum penalty as opposed to an intermediate one” 

should be revised because it leaves respondents open to arbitrary penalties based on 

mitigating or aggravating factors.  

o There should be guidelines for what merits a minimum versus maximum sentence 

and what one can expect based on the balance of factors in aggravation and 

mitigation. The Bureau ought to disclose the maximum possible penalty, or “worst 

case scenario,” for each code violation. Failure to do so constitutes a violation of 

due process. The Bureau has not been transparent regarding these potential 

penalties. How did the Bureau establish the penalties? 

 Response:  

o The provision referenced in the first bullet is intended to promote, rather than 

discourage, sound disciplinary decisions. It allows an ALJ the flexibility to 

determine the outcome of each case depending on the facts and circumstances 

involved.  

o In response to a comment received during the 45-day comment period, the Bureau 

has done away with terminology conveying “minimum” and “maximum” probation 

terms to the extent it creates a misleading impression the recommended probation 

terms are a floor, rather than simply recommendations. As stated in the Disciplinary 

Guidelines, the maximum penalty in each case is license revocation. The revised 

ISOR contains a general description of what merits a two-, three-, or five-year 

probation term. It also provides justification for the recommended probation term 

for each code violation. It is not possible for the Bureau to provide a general 

description of how the balance of aggravating and mitigating factors will turn out in 

a given case, because this is dependent on an ALJ’s discretion in each case.  


